Logo
this weekend 15 & 16.12.18

open from 9h till 18h

Once upon a timeImpression

Moléson-Village – From utopian vision to reality

Moléson-Village was born of the fertile imagination of several Fribourg residents who had a vision for developing the economy and tourism at the same time. The utopian idea of the 1960s to build a model village was eventually killed by controversy and financial difficulties. It began to take shape again in 1978, but in a much different form than originally imagined.

This epic story is just as much about tourism (the dream of a mountain resort) as it is about architecture (more than 150 plans, most of which never saw the light of day), economics (more than 20 million francs invested) and even sociology. The goal of this article is to summarize the facts related to the various stages of this adventure without distorting the issues involved.

Epagny – Moléson by cable car :

from folly to utopia

Robert Boschung, the property developer of the « Vieux Chalet » in Crésuz, had dreams of a restaurant on the summit of Moléson which would be linked to Epagny by cable car. He gathered together several influential Fribourg personalities who were enthusiastic about the idea of developing tourism in the canton. In November 1959, the committee took the initiative of presenting an request to the federal department of post offices and railways for permission to build a gondola from Pringy to Plan-Francey with a mid station at La Chaux and a cable car from Plan-Francey to the summit of Moléson.

In May 1961, the Grand Conseil of the canton of Fribourg accepted a motion by deputy Pierre Morard and 60 cosignatories requesting the construction of a road between Pringy and La Chaux. Four kilometres in length and six metres wide with a maximum grade of 10 %, the road would cost approximately seven million francs, of which three million would be paid by the future resort. Construction began in March 1962 and ended in July 1963.

A concession already granted to the commune of Enney forced the developers to go ahead with the construction of a standing gondola, the famous « Moléson buckets », that connected La Chaux and La Vudalla. Two ski lifts were also installed to round out the total investment to 2.5 million francs. The three terminals and mid station, designed by Lausanne architect Marc Wuarin, had concrete foundations, wooden walls and multilayer roofs. The lifts began operation in December 1963, except for the Plan-Francey – Moléson section which was inaugurated the following winter.

A model village :

the utopian village

William Dunkel, distinguished Zurich architect, retired professor and member of the German Bauhaus school of design, was retained to conceive the development plan of the future resort village on the slopes of Moléson. In a presentation of the development plan to the board of directors in January 1963 he wrote: « An undeveloped region allows us to prepare a comprehensive development plan in harmony with the existing landscape. (…) It would be a shame for this project to sacrifice its well-balanced unity to egotistical fantasy and speculation owing to insufficient regulation. The author of this development plan has a preference for organized groups of buildings separated by green spaces instead of a falsely romantic village concept based on heedless modernity ».

In order to combat speculation, keep from dispersing construction and avoid imitation, Dunkel decided to recommend a development plan with strict rules. The board of directors endorsed his vision. The commune retained ownership of the land while allowing the GMV company to proceed with the construction of several buildings. Potential investors had to negotiate with a sole representative offering surface rights. The system proved difficult to implement and worried more than one potential buyer.

Dunkel preferred a concentrated building style « along the lines of the close-knit villages of the Valais region with landscaping between zones ». In order to avoid scattering the buildings, he proposed building the 3,000-bed village in La Chaux and reserved Crêt de la Ville and Plan-Francey for sanatoriums and luxury establishments. More lenient rules would apply to private constructions in Commun, an area not visible from the valley below.

In the absence of a specific Fribourg chalet style, Dunkel advocated « an architectural form creating a natural extension of the site instead of conflicting with it ». Local construction materials were chosen – stone for the foundations and pillars, wood for the habitable parts – rectangular forms were rejected and sloping terraces divided up the volumes. The flat roof was his trademark.

This development plan was cohesive and well-received. A model was even displayed at the Swiss Heritage Society stand at the 1964 Swiss national exposition in Lausanne.

Construction must go ahead :

utopia meets urgency

In a September 1964 report on a publicity campaign, the manager of the resort informed the commune of Gruyères that the resort had « received 260 written enquiries ». The planning process was accelerated : neighbourhoods were designed, an architectural competition was announced, plans for water supply, sewage treatment, access and parking were made. But in the end none of these plans materialized.

In 1966, the board of directors retained the four competition-winning architects who eventually adopted only the concentrated style, individual houses and flat roofs of the Dunkel plan. Local building materials were replaced by fibre cement, steel and concrete. In June of 1966, the consortium presented a group of 80 houses « accessible by oblique sloping elevators and heated snow-free horizontal roads » ! But construction never began and the resort had trouble paying off both interest and debt. In January 1967, the board of directors decided to undertake construction of the first buildings on its own. One residence (Grevîre) with 18 apartments was planned, along with several holiday homes designed by architects Tüscher and Hostettler – thirty units in all from studios to five-room apartments. William Dunkel cried foul, the Swiss Heritage Society abandoned ship and the Zurich architect was ousted in October 1967. Walter Tüscher took over as the official architect for Moléson-Village. On April 8, 1971 he declared to La Gruyère newspaper that his predecessor was « responsible for an overly rigid development plan and a lack of integration with the touristic milieu ». He also made a promise to emphasize multi-family dwellings.

Controversy over the « molécubes » :

utopia challenged

The development of Moléson-Village was a controversial issue ever since the project was first presented in January of 1963. The press and its readers were divided, as were the Swiss Heritage Society and the Friends of Gruyères and the daily newspapers from Fribourg and other parts of Switzerland. The Fribourg newspapers – La Gruyère et La Liberté – initially displayed some enthusiasm for what an article on January 26, 1963 in the three times weekly Bulle newspaper called « an inevitable success ». But they gradually distanced themselves from what became known in the region as : « the molécubes ».

The controversy centred around the use of cubic forms, cement and flat roofs.

The Swiss press showered praise on the project. « Moléson-Village : An Experiment for Europe » headlined the Neue Zürcher Zeitung on February 21, 1963. The same day, the Tages Anzeiger praised the project as a potential national tourist attraction. On March 5, 1963 L’Express stated that the canton of Fribourg had suddenly « shaken off its dusty old traditions in favour of more dynamic vocations than traditional farming and confident devoutness ».

The Swiss Heritage Society was in favour of the future village and displayed a model at its stand at the Swiss national exposition in 1964. Its architect, Max Kopp from Zurich, expressed his point of view in a June 1963 press release : « I believe that the question of flat or sloping roofs is secondary. There are no existing buildings on site which would impose their style of architecture ». The Friends of Gruyères replied in a letter to the board of directors dated February 3, 1963 : « Gruyère is not the private kingdom of the Swiss Heritage Society or a cable car company. (…) If the president of the GMV company wants to establish a trial zone for new architectural forms it should look elsewhere. The Commun area would be better suited for its cubes built on piles. At least the damage would only be visible from the surrounding mountain ridges. » After the architectural competition, the Swiss Heritage Society gradually distanced itself from the proposal and finally rejected the idea of the resort after the firing of William Dunkel.

Plans for the future multiply :

utopia gives way to neurosis

Difficulties selling or renting the apartments built in Moléson-Village between 1967 and 1969 led to an ever-increasing threat of bankruptcy and the company began a desperate search for investors. Some examples included: a Swedish group that expressed interest in the construction of a hotel ; a group from Lausanne which proposed a building with apartments and shops in the future village centre and an Italian group which wanted to build a hotel. The company archives revealed several proposals for saving the resort from bankruptcy. The plans were detailed, construction permits were requested and in one case a tender was even accepted. Florilège : a French group wanted to erect three six storey buildings with 500 units and a capacity of 3,000 beds (1969-71) ; the Swiss railway workers association proposed three buildings with studio apartments (1970-75) ; the Commune of Lancy was interested in building a vacation camp combined with a 500 bed military hospital ; architectural drawings for a hotel-club with 100 beds were also found in the company archives.

In 1975 the company once again changed direction, abandoning real estate to concentrate on lift construction. In 1976, the Migros supermarket chain seriously considered buying the entire tourist complex. Despite a valiant attempt at stabilizing the resort’s financial situation – the creditors agreed to renounce 90 % of their claims and convert the rest into shares – the supermarket giant abandoned Moléson to its fate.

Help from the government

On October 7, 1980 the Grand Conseil of the canton of Fribourg agreed to excuse the resort of a debt in the amount of 3.5 millions francs for the cantonal road Pringy – La Chaux. The message accompanying the decision was clear. « It is a well-known fact that the financial situation of the company has evolved in an unfavourable manner since the beginning. Annual budget deficits are the norm (…) The financial situation of the GMV company is getting worse by the year, its directors are constantly looking for solutions to stabilize its state of affairs. In the end, their efforts were rewarded by a memorandum of understanding (…) 1. excuse the road debt ; 2. reduce capital from 3.1 million to 1.555 million ; 3. resignation of board of direction (…) Between 1962 and 1980, Moléson received more than 20 million francs worth of investments in lifts, restaurants, infrastructure, equipment, construction and moveable property. »

Construction of the village :

utopia becomes reality

In 1978, two brothers from the Valais, Bernard and Philippe Micheloud bought 14,496 m2 of land and temporarily ensured the company’s survival. In the wake of their purchase they built 14 chalets and progressively took charge of the resort’s destiny. In 1983, they centralized the management of the lifts, restaurants and administration as well as the rental and care-taking of vacation chalets and apartments. Within five years, Moléson became what everyone had hoped for all along. Fifty chalets were built, a village with three apartment buildings and commercial space was created as well as a sports centre with tennis courts and mini golf. The brothers were determined to start their tenure with a clean slate and collaborated with local authorities to produce a charter defining what Moléson would not become – « no to futuristic architecture which tends to be rapidly outdated » – and what Moléson should be : « yes to a village of wood chalets, in harmony with nature, on a human scale. »

By 1988, the resort boasted 1,200 beds in chalets and apartments out of the 3,500 beds planned. Since that time, Moléson has survived the economic crisis, renovated its lift systems and enticed more summer visitors by developing an astronomical observatory at the top of the Moléson, a traditional cheese dairy in a 17th century alpine chalet and various summer sports activities.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

– Vers une renaissance de Moléson-Village, In Echo Illustré, July 15, 1978.
– Vers une renaissance de la station du Moléson, In La Gruyère, June 8, 1978.
– Naissance d’un village, In Panorama fribourgeois, N° 10, 1988. José Seydoux.
– Moléson sur Gruyères, évolution de la station, travail de diplôme, dactylographié, Ecole suisse de tourisme, Sierre, 1988, Marie-Claude Nidegger.

Logo

Il était une foisImpression

Moléson-Village de l’utopie au réalisme

Moléson-Village est issu de la fertile imagination de quelques Fribourgeois prêts à conjuguer développement économique et touristique. L’utopique projet des années 1960 de bâtir un village idéal s’est dissout dans les eaux troubles de la polémique et des difficultés financières. Il se concrétise, dès 1978, dans un langage formel très éloigné de celui prévu à l’origine.

L’histoire de cette épopée tient autant du touristique (le rêve d’une station touristique) que de l’architectural (plus de 150 plans, pour la plupart non réalisés), de l’économie (plus de 20 millions investis) que du sociologique. Cet article propose quelques pistes, un matériau brut sans synthèse dont le but est de cerner les étapes de cette aventure dont la mémoire vive a déjà déformé les enjeux.

Epagny – Moléson en télécabine : de la folie à l’utopie

Robert Boschung, heureux promoteur du « Vieux Chalet » à Crésuz, rêve d’un restaurant au sommet du Moléson relié à Epagny par une télécabine. Il réunit autour de lui quelques personnalités fribourgeoises enthousiasmées par l’idée d’un développement touristique cantonal. En novembre 1959, le comité d’initiative dépose une première demande de concession au Département fédéral des postes et des chemins de fer pour une télécabine reliant Pringy à Plan-Francey avec une station intermédiaire à La Chaux et un téléphérique de Plan-Francey au sommet du Moléson.

Le Grand Conseil fribourgeois accepte, en mai 1961, la motion du député gruérien Pierre Morard et 60 cosignataires. Elle demande la construction d’une route cantonale reliant Pringy à La Chaux. Longue de quatre kilomètres pour une largeur de six mètres et une pente maximale de 10 %, elle coûtera environ sept millions de francs, dont trois à la charge de la future station. Les travaux débutent en mars 1962 pour s’achever en juillet 1963.

Une concession déjà accordée à la commune d’Enney contraint les promoteurs à construire une Télébenne, les fameux bidons de Moléson, reliant La Chaux à La Vudalla. Deux téléskis complètent l’offre pour un coût total d’environ 2,5 millions. Les trois gares et la station intermédiaire, confiées à l’architecte lausannois Marc Wuarin, déclinent béton pour le socle, bois pour les parois et multicouche pour la toiture. Les remontées mécaniques sont exploitées en décembre 1963 à l’exception du tronçon Plan-Francey – Moléson inauguré l’hiver suivant.

Un village idéal : le village utopique

William Dunkel, éminent architecte zurichois, professeur à la retraite, formé à l’école du Bauhaus allemand, se voit confier le plan d’aménagement du futur village de vacances à construire sur les pentes du Moléson. Il écrit à ce sujet lors de la présentation du plan d’aménagement au conseil d’administration, en janvier 1963. « Une région non exploitée permet d’envisager un plan d’aménagement complet et adapté au paysage. (…) Ce serait porter un grave préjudice à ce projet unique que de laisser perdre cette unité harmonieuse et bien équilibrée pour faire place à la fantaisie égoïste et spéculative qu’entraînerait une réglementation insuffisante. L’auteur de ce projet a préféré au faux romantisme de village et à l’insouciance moderne, une disposition organisée en groupes de constructions, séparés par des bandes reboisées. »

Lutter contre la spéculation, ne pas disperser les constructions et refuser tout pastiche, ces trois principes amènent Dunkel à proposer un plan d’aménagement au règlement strict. Le conseil d’administration se rallie à cette vision du projet. La commune reste propriétaire des terrains alors que la Société GMV est autorisée à y construire divers objets. Les investisseurs négocient avec un seul interlocuteur qui leur propose des droits de superficie. Le système est difficile à appliquer et inquiète plus d’un acheteur potentiel.

Dunkel prévoit une importante concentration du bâti « ressemblant à des villages valaisans serrés avec des reboisements entre les zones ». Afin d’éviter l’éparpillement des constructions, il concentre le futur village sur le territoire de La Chaux aménagé pour une capacité de 3000 lits et place au Crêt de la Ville et à Plan-Francey des établissements de cure ou de luxe alors qu’au Commun, pas visible de la plaine, sont prévues des constructions privées soumises à des règles plus souples.

En l’absence d’un modèle fribourgeois de chalet d’habitation, Dunkel prône « une forme architecturale qui ne sera pas en opposition avec le site, mais plutôt sa prolongation naturelle ». Il choisit des matériaux de construction locaux : la pierre pour les fondations et les socles, le bois pour toutes les parties habitables. Il décline le rectangle morcelant les volumes en terrasses qui épousent la pente. Le toit plat en est la marque significative.

Ce plan d’aménagement se distinguait par la cohésion du propos et connut un succès d’estime, couronné par une maquette montrée, en 1964, à l’Exposition nationale de Lausanne sur le stand du Heimatschutz.

Construire à tout prix : l’utopie dans l’urgence

En septembre 1964, le directeur de la station annonce à la commune de Gruyères (rapport sur une campagne publicitaire) que la station « a reçu 260 demandes par écrit ». On décide d’accélérer le processus : établissement des plans de quartiers, lancement d’un concours d’architecture, aménagement du système d’adduction d’eau, construction d’une station d’épuration, de la route d’accès au futur village et d’un grand parking. Toutefois rien ne se concrétise.

Le conseil d’administration mise, en 1966, sur les quatre architectes primés lors du concours qui ne retiennent du projet Dunkel que la concentration du bâti, les maison individuelles et les toits plats, remplaçant les matériaux locaux par l’éternit, l’acier et le béton. En consortium, ils présentent en juin 1966 un ensemble de 80 maisons « desservies par des ascenseurs obliques dans la pente et des chemins horizontaux asphaltés et chauffés pour la fonte de la neige » ! Mais rien ne se construit et la station peine à honorer les intérêts et les amortissements de la dette. En janvier 1967, le conseil d’administration décide de construire lui-même les premières maisons d’habitation. On opte pour une résidence (Grevîre) de 18 appartements, et quelques maisons de vacances des architectes Tüscher et Hostettler, soit une trentaine d’appartements, du studio aux cinq pièces. William Dunkel cire à la trahison, le Heimatschutz abandonne le navire et l’architecte zurichois est évincé en octobre 1967. Walter Tüscher devient l’architecte officiel de Moléson-Village. Il déclare à La Gruyère le 8 avril 1971 que son prédécesseur est « responsable d’un plan d’aménagement trop rigide et d’un manque d’intégration dans les milieux touristiques ». Il s’engage à mettre l’accent sur les habitations collectives.

La polémique autour des « molécubes » : l’utopie contestée

Moléson-Village a déchaîné la polémique dès la présentation du projet en janvier 1963, divisant la presse et ses lecteurs, le Heimatschutz et les Amis de Gruyères, les quotidiens fribourgeois et suisses. Les journaux fribourgeois – La Gruyère et La Liberté – affichent d’abord un certain enthousiasme pour un projet que le trihebdomadaire bullois qualifie le 26 janvier 1963 « d’incontournable réussite ». Puis ils prennent leurs distances face à ce que l’on appelle ironiquement dans la région : « les molécubes ». La polémique se focalise autour du cube, du béton et du toit plat.

Quant à elle, la presse helvétique encense le projet. « Moléson-Village : Ein Experiment für Europa » titre la Neue Zürcher Zeitung le 21 février 1963. Le même jour, le Tages Anzeiger crie au génie et annonce une attraction nationale. L’Express, le 5 mars 1963, estime que le canton de Fribourg « a brusquement secoué les poussières sédatives qui l’enrobaient et s’est découvert des vocations plus dynamiques que celles de la paysannerie traditionnelle et de la religiosité confiante en l’avenir céleste ».

La Heimatschutz s’engage en faveur du futur village en le propulsant au rand de modèle sur son stand de l’Exposition nationale de 1964. Son architecte, le Zurichois Max Kopp, s’en explique dans un communiqué de presse en juin 1963 : « J’estime que la question des toits plats ou à deux ou à plusieurs plans est de nature secondaire. A cet endroit ne se trouve aucun ancien établissement qui imposerait le ton auquel on doit se tenir ». Les Amis de Gruyères réagissent dans une lettre au conseil d’administration le 3 février 1963 : « La Gruyère n’est pas le fief du Heimatschutz ou d’une Société de téléphérique. (…) Si la Société GMV veut, comme elle le prétend par la voix de son président créer chez nous une zone d’essai d’architecture nouvelle qu’elle inverse son projet. Qu’elle implante au Commun ses bâtisses cubiques et ses pilotis. En ce lieu visible seulement des hautes crêtes alentour, le dommage serait minime. » Dès le concours d’architecture, le Heimatschutz prend ses distances pour finalement désavouer la station après l’éviction de William Dunkel.

La multiplication des projets : de l’utopie à la névrose

La difficulté de vendre ou de louer les appartements construits à Moléson-Village entre 1967 et 1969 et la menace toujours plus pressante d’une faillite inquiètent sérieusement la Société qui se lance dès 1969 dans la recherche d’investisseurs, envisageant tout ou presque.

Le courrier de la station témoigne de ces errements. Exemples : un groupe suédois imagine un hôtel garni ; un groupe lausannois s’intéresse à une maison d’appartements et des boutiques dans le futur centre commercial ; un groupe italien rêve à son tour d’un hôtel garni. On troue dans les archives de la Société quelques projets censés sauver la station. Les plans sont détaillés, parfois le permis de construire a été demandé et même une fois les soumissions attribuées. Florilège : construction par un groupe français de trois bâtiments de six étages pour 500 logements et une capacité de 3000 lits (1969-71) ; implantation pour l’Association suisse des Cheminots de trois immeubles de studios (1970-75) ; projet au pied de la Vudalla par la Commune de Lancy d’une colonie de vacances combinée avec un hôpital militaire de 500 lits ; un hôtel club d’une centaine de lits dont les archives de la société conservent plusieurs propositions architecturales.

A partir de 1975, la Société change une nouvelle fois de politique, voulant abandonner l’immobilier pour se concentrer sur les remontées mécaniques. Et en 1976, la Migros envisage sérieusement l’éventuel rachat de tout le complexe touristique. Malgré une drastique tentative d’assainissement – les créanciers abandonnent 90 % de leurs prétentions et transforment le reste en actions – le géant de l’alimentation abandonne Moléson à son sort.

L’Etat censeur

Le 7 octobre 1980, le Grand Conseil fribourgeois accepte de libérer la station de ses engagements, soit une somme de 3,5 millions de francs pour la route cantonale Pringy – La Chaux. Le message accompagnant le décret est explicite. « Il est notoire que la situation financière de la Société a évolué de façon défavorable dès le début. Tous les exercices annuels ont été déficitaires. (…) La situation financière de la société GMV empirant d’année en année, ses organes responsables ont été constamment à la recherche de solutions d’assainissement. Finalement, leurs efforts ont abouti, récemment, à un protocole d’accord (…) 1. abandon des créances routières ; 2. réduction du capital de 3,1 millions à 1,555 million ; 3. démission du conseil d’administration (…) Il y a eu, au Moléson, de 1962 à 1980, des investissements pour un total de plus de 20 millions pour les installations mécaniques, les restaurants, l’infrastructure, l’équipement, les constructions et le mobilier. »

La construction du village : l’utopie devient réalisme

En 1978, les frères valaisans Bernard et Philippe Micheloud achètent 14 496 m2 de terrain et assurent momentanément la survie de la Société. Dans la foulée, ils construisent 14 chalets et prennent progressivement en main les destinées de la station. En 1983, ils centralisent la direction des remontées mécaniques, les restaurants, le bureau d’administration et de gérance des chalets et appartements. En cinq ans, ils sont parvenus à faire ce que l’on attendait à Moléson-Village depuis vingt ans : construire une cinquantaine de chalets, un village avec trois bâtiments d’appartements et des commerces, un centre sportif avec tennis et minigolf.

Dès leur arrivée à Moléson, ils font table rase du passé et rédigent avec les autorités locales une charte qui définit ce que Moléson-Village ne sera pas – « non au futurisme qui se démode à peine construit » – et ce que Moléson-Village sera : « oui à un village de chalets en bois, construits en harmonie avec la nature, à la taille de l’homme. »

En 1988, la station dispose de 1200 lits en chalets et appartements sur les 3500 prévus. Depuis lors Moléson a dû faire face à la crise économique, au renouvellement de ses installations de remontées mécaniques et a surtout pris le virage de l’été avec développement d’un observatoire astronomique au Moléson et d’une fromagerie traditionnelle dans un ancien chalet ainsi que diverses activités sportives estivales.

BIBLIOGRAPHIE
  • Vers une renaissance de Moléson-Village, In Echo Illustré, 15 juillet 1978.
  • Vers une renaissance de la station du Moléson, In La Gruyère, 8 juin 1978.
  • Naissance d’un village, In Panorama fribourgeois, N° 10, 1988. José Seydoux.
  • Moléson sur Gruyères, évolution de la station, travail de diplôme, dactylographié, Ecole suisse de tourisme, Sierre, 1988, Marie-Claude Nidegger.